Decorating it Forward…Christmas Tree Trimming at the DuPage Animal Shelter #Kmart #CBias


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about…..more “Decorating it Forward”. Last month I was thrilled when I was asked to head over to my local Kmart, with a budget of $150.00, to buy Christmas decorations for my home. The vignettes I was able to create were fantastic! Now, Kmart has entrusted me with the opportunity to decorate it forward. They sent me a great big box full of Christmas tree trimmings, from the Country Living Collection, to spread some holiday cheer in any way that I saw fit.

 Before my package arrived, I was considering all of the worthwhile organizations that could benefit from making Christmas a little bit brighter. However, as soon as I opened the box, I knew exactly what I was going to do.

The ornaments were darling! There were birdcages trimmed in Christmas plaid, cardinals, gold candles, shiny metallic balls, glittery pinecones and puppy dogs and kitty cats wearing Christmas hats.

Ever since we adopted our furry son Wrigley, our 92lb Chocolate Lab, I have been a total animal lover. The intended recipient was obvious to me immediately; the DuPage County Animal Shelter. What a wonderful organization! In addition to all of their other services, they focus on adopting animals into responsible and loving homes.

 

Last month alone, the DuPage Animal Shelter placed 100 animals with families whose lives are now complete with the addition of a furry friend. I decided that the best way to spread Christmas cheer was to create care packages, for individual families, with ornaments they could hang on their tree to celebrate the first Christmas with their newest family member.

 

My mom helped me gather the rest of the supplies we would need. It was easy; we headed down to my basement storage room and found gift bags, tissue paper, ribbon and scrapbooking paper.

 

We divided up the ornaments for each care package; two metallic balls, one bird house, one cardinal, pinecones or a gold candle, and a puppy dog or kitten. After wrapping the ornaments in tissue paper, we placed the collection in a gift bag.

Next, we made gift tags which said;

Thank you for adopting a dog (some said cat) from the DuPage County Animal Shelter

Then we tied the tags onto the bags with red and green ribbon. They were adorable. What a nice keepsake for a few lucky families!

 

After loading the 15 care packages into my car, we headed over to the DuPage Animal Shelter.

 

We were nearly moved to tears as we were greeted by the most lovely and giving people; employees, volunteers and visitors alike. As we explained that we were there to contribute to the adoption experience by spreading a little Christmas cheer with the help of Kmart, they were clearly touched by such a thoughtful gesture. We were overwhelmed by the experience, the facility, the people and the sweetest animals in need of a good home. In fact, I was tempted to bring home two 10 week old puppies, but decided it was best not to give my own furry, nearly 9 year old son, a heart attack.

To see all of the photographs from our experience, please visit me at:

https://plus.google.com/?gpcaz=828507ce&gpcaz=7105cc40#

More beautiful Christmas tree trimmings, more worthy causes, more furry friends, more help from Kmart…….

To learn more about the DuPage Animal Shelter, please visit:

http://www.dupageco.org/animalcontrol/

To schedule an Interior Design appointment or life style consultation, or for questions or comments please send me an email to moreismoremom@aol.com

This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper insights study for Collective Bias #CBias. All ideas, opinions and experiences are my own.

2 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

2 responses to “Decorating it Forward…Christmas Tree Trimming at the DuPage Animal Shelter #Kmart #CBias

  1. Deborah

    Love this Vanessa- What a wonderful gesture of caring that truly represents the Christmas spirit and season!

    • Thank you Deborah….It was such a rewarding experience! We can’t wait to see you for Christmas. Amanda is ready to play spoons and we got a new game, Outburst, that we can’t wait to try out! xoxo V

Leave a Reply

