Holiday Decorating Inspirations at #Kmart with #CBias


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about…….more decorating for the holidays! Christmas truly is the most magical time of year. There is just something really special about family traditions, whether we are sipping hot chocolate, driving around, checking out our neighbors Christmas lights, making gingerbread houses with our dearest neighbor and friend, Mrs. Hobbs, picking out new ornaments, wrapping presents (when the kids were little, my mom and Nurse Terri would help me wrap while we sipped champagne) or enjoying a great big meal on Christmas Eve (last year we ordered out Chinese ~ just like in The Christmas Story ~ and it was fantastic!).

I love decorating for the holidays; after all, more of everything is always better! This year, I was pretty excited when I was invited to check out Kmart’s Holiday Department. Always up for a challenge, I was delighted with the opportunity to shop at Kmart with $150.00 to spend decorating for Christmas.

The timing couldn’t have been more perfect. Holiday inspired décor, vignettes and tablescapes have been on my mind, as I was the featured speaker at an event at the Arlington Design Center in Arlington Heights, IL last week. There I shared some of my professional Interior Design tips and inspirations for entertaining for the holidays.

Cruising the aisles at Kmart was so much fun; inspiration was around every corner. With so many beautiful ornaments, sparkling and glittering accents, ribbons, greens and decorations it was hard to decide where to look first. As I made my way down the aisles, I came across a gorgeous collection of Christopher Radko ornaments at a completely unheard of price; $9.99 a piece!

 

Sometimes, ornaments can get completely lost on a great big tree. These ornaments were special, so I knew they needed to serve as a focal point. I selected my four favorites; two Santa’s and two Snowmen and I picked up four 12” artificial pine wreaths (I love real, but they tend to shed and get kind of tired). Kmart had a HUGE selection of beautiful ribbon to coordinate with any décor, though I chose to use a simple and classic red ribbon.

I thought the ornaments would be a lovely and elegant touch strung through a strand of ribbon, nestled in a wreath of pine, hanging in my dining room and kitchen windows. The best part was that the whole look only took a few minutes.

 

I measured how far down I wanted the wreaths to hang (14”), cut a piece of ribbon (28”), threaded the ornament through the ribbon, nestled the ornaments and ribbon into the top of the wreath, then, with push pins, I secured the two ends of the ribbon into the window casing, and voila…..I had a tasteful and elegant focal point to my windows.

 

The Christopher Radko ornaments and wreaths took up a significant part of my budget (though they were totally worth it!). I still wanted to add a few festive touches, so I had to get creative.

 

Candy confections, like visions of sugar plums, danced in my head, so I snagged a few bags of Holiday M n M’s, peppermint marshmallows and candy canes. One of my most favorite home décor staples are my apothecary jars. They always look great filled with seasonal treasures. However, to achieve this effect, you don’t need apothecary jars, any clear cylinders will work. I simply filled the jars with candy and placed them on my island. They are cheerful and whimsical, which is something holiday decorating should be.

 

Decorating for Christmas doesn’t have to scream Santa and his reindeer. I thought I would create a little vignette for my kitchen table. To start, I took two basic hurricanes that I had in my personal inventory (in fact, for my #KmartHalloween #50ftParty I had them filled with candy corn!), filled them with faux snow and chose two fabulous, pine scented candles to place inside. These will absolutely last throughout the winter season to bring a little sparkle to the long cold months ahead.

 

With a few dollars left to spend, I decided to soften things up a bit and bring an organic quality to the table. I have a darling birdbath, but you can do this with a shallow footed bowl. I simply took a stem of artificial pine branches, removing the wire pick with my small wire cutters, and created a little nest for my birdbath. I then placed two glass ornaments inside; a caterpillar (because I adore bugs!) and an acorn. The ornaments were from the Jaclyn Smith holiday collection. It is too cute for words!

 

Rather than place these items at random on my table, I chose to give them more importance by corralling them on a tray. I also added one tall pillar candle holder to give my arrangement a little more height and visual interest.

I am thrilled with the elegant, festive touches that I have been able to add to my holiday décor…..all thanks to my visit to Kmart!

To check out all of the great items I found at Kmart, by clicking on the link below to my Google+ post

https://plus.google.com/?gpcaz=d358b807#109747774870459280271/posts

 You can also see Kmart’s Holiday Collection my visiting their website:

http://kmart.com/holidayshop

More whimsy, more Christmas celebrations, more traditions, more festive holiday décor….

To schedule an Interior Design or Life Style consultation, or for an questions and comments, please contact me at moreismoremom@aol.com

This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper insights study for Collective Bias #CBias. All ideas, opinions and experiences are my own.

10 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

10 responses to “Holiday Decorating Inspirations at #Kmart with #CBias

  1. Can’t wait to get into the store today….the decorations look awesome!

  2. I love how you personalized everything! Thanks for showing how we can use store bought ornaments and still make the design our own! Gorgeous home!

  3. Everything looks fantastic! I love your creativity and festive spirit!

  4. I love it! I’m heading to Kmart tomorrow to get items for my shop. Your house is beautiful by the way. We are about to repaint our kitchen cabinets and I wanted them the color of yours…greenish? We have the same backsplash too, so I love seeing how it would look. I also love your chandelier. So beautiful!

  5. girl you are just too crafty! Wanna come decorate my house? I can’t wait until the kids are old enough to decorate like that without the worry of everything getting smashed or the candy getting eaten! LOL

  6. I almost bought those exact candles and I love the candy dishes. Your home is fabulous!

  7. I love what you did to this room! My favorites are the wreaths in the windows!

  8. Very nice! Love your wreath treatments 🙂

  9. Pingback: Holiday Decorating Inspirations at #Kmart with #CBias | Kmart Holiday

Leave a Reply

