Who’s Your Caddy?


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about……more opportunities for hitting the links! While I personally don’t know the first thing about golf, other than that I can shag my own balls back at the driving range, my Nick is absolutely obsessed with the game. This is a kid that sleeps like a baby with his alarm clock blaring, walls reverberating, requiring a personal wake up call every morning, but when it came time for the British Open, he was bright eyed and bushy tailed at 4AM so he wouldn’t miss a moment. Anything for the love of the game……

His current player obsession is the fabulously fashionable Rickie Fowler (though his heart still belongs to Phil). As Nick’s style advisor, I have always been in favor of a buzz cut. When I call Rick the Barber to make an appointment for Nick I always tell him short in the back and on the sides with it a little longer on top. These days, my fella is letting his hair grow. It’s kind of a modified Justin Bieber, with it long in front, sweeping to the side, and he’s praying that the back does a little flip up over his baseball cap. He calls it “flow” ala his idol Rickie Fowler.

This past week Nick played in a golf tournament in Indiana; 36 holes in a day. His one and only wish was for a caddy. He offered me the privilege of the job, but the idea of schlucking that bag up and down the fairway for 8 hours sounded kind of like a drag. Besides, I don’t know anything useful about golf. I have no words of wisdom with regards to course management. All I can comment on is his anger management, and believe me, in the moment he’s just not interested in hearing about it. Nick also offered the job to Amanda which would have been a colossal mistake. Without question it would have come to fisticuffs and she would have been bored out of her mind after 4 holes max.  

Chuck has been up to his eyeballs 6 and 7 days a week building the awesome new Harley Davidson of Palatine with his partner (shoot me an email if you have a commercial project. I’ll hook you up.), but he knew how important this day was to Nick so he did the unthinkable….he actually took a day off of work to be Nicks caddy. With Nick heading off to college at the end of the month, I was thrilled the fellas would squeak in some father-son bonding. They went down the night before; golfed a round, went out to dinner, found a hotel, watched Entourage and hit the sack.

Wearing his favorite salmon colored golf shirt and lucky baseball cap (signed by Rickie Fowler and Rory Mc Ilroy at the 2010 BMW Championship at Cog Hill), Nick teed off on the first hole. He was in Heaven! As a practically professional caddy himself, Nick loved the luxury of having his very own caddy, especially since it was his dad. They talked strategy at each hole (Chuck actually plays, watches, cares about and understands golf….a much better choice.). Other than spending a quality and memorable day together, Nick loved having a caddy to rake the sand after he left the bunker.

I drove to Indiana at 6am so I could walk the first 18 with the boys. It was a really fun morning watching Nick play, seeing how much he’s matured as a player in the past year. Of course I was compelled to pull Chuck over to the side and suggest he ask Nick what was up with all of the spitting and scratching. He told me, in fact, that he had asked the very same question the day before, to which Nick replied, “Well, I guess I’m just a baseball player at heart.”  

More road trips, more hitting the links, more caddying, more family bonding….

To schedule and Interior Design appointment, a Life Style consultation or a speaking engagement, please email me at moreismoremom@aol.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Life, More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

