My Favorite Things About Vanity Fair Magazine….


 

As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about……more Vanity Fair magazine! While I am a total slave to shelter magazines like Traditional Home, House Beautiful and Better Homes & Gardens, my absolute all time favorite magazine is Vanity Fair. Each issue is chock full fabulous information; politics (too complicated and boring for me to really, truly follow), business (tantalizing and often scandalous!), culture (art, music, literature, very sophisticated), society (London, New York, LA and world jet setter’s….fun to see how the other half lives), style (for the Fashionista in all of us) and the very best part Hurray for HOLLYWOOD!

Years and years ago, when I was first introduced to Vanity Fair, I fell in love with columnist Dominick Dunne (father of Griffin Dunne of Who’s That Girl Fame…you know, the movie with Madonna). The moment I found the latest issue in my mail box, I frantically flipped around until I found Mr. Dunne’s latest juicy offering. Amongst other things, he was an amazing investigative journalist, who hob-knobbed with the rich and famous. In the words of Alice Roosevelt Longworth (Teddy Roosevelt is my all time favorite president), “If you can’t say something nice, come sit by me.”

I love getting a little glimpse into the lives of the fabulous, which is why the “My Stuff” feature is always a must see. A mover and shaker is profiled, where they divulge intimate details about their favorite everyday products.

I’ve always wanted to be profiled, so I thought it would be fun to compare the answers of the ultra-chic and fantastic with ordinary mom (which would be me).

FOR THE HOME:

Where do you live?

Chelsea

Western Suburbs of Chicago

Favorite Art?

Frances Bacon

Kevin Bacon

Sheets?

Frette

Target

Luggage?

World-Traveler Trunks

Vera Bradley

Coffee Maker?

Cuisinart 12-cup

Starbucks Drive-thru hot chocolate

Stationary?

Cartier

Office Max

Favorite record?

Karen Elson’s The Ghost Who Walks

K-tel Hits (I especially like my “album” with Eric Clapton singing I Shot the Sheriff)

Favorite Gadget?

I-Phone

I-Pod (with my nearly 5,000 songs, because more of everything is ALWAYS better)

CLOTHES:

Jeans?

Rag and Bone

Eddie Bauer, Tall (thanks you Eddie Bauer….long inseams are hard to fit)

Sneakers?

Superga

Nike Shox

Day Bag?

Chanel chain bag or Dolce and Gabbana Miss Sicily

Raspberry Cole Haan, on clearance at TJ Maxx

T-Shirt?

James Perse

Old Navy

BEAUTY PRODUCTS:

Lipstick?
Dolce and Gabbana Scarlett

Bath and Body lip gloss in Warm Vanilla

Mascara?

Chanel

Chanel, and Sonia Kashuk for Target (slightly more reasonably priced)

Toothpaste?

Colgate

Crest (duh)

Hair?

Garren

Michelle

More high society, more exclusivity, more middle America, more normal everything…..

To schedule and Interior Design Appointment, or a speaking engagement, please email me at

http://moreismoremom@aol.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Life, More is More Mom, Personal Style

Leave a Reply

