Heading to the Royal Wedding……


 

As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about….more Royal Weddings! My mom tells me that when I was a little girl, I sat with rapt attention in front of our one and only television set (black and white with rabbit ears perhaps?) as President Richard M. Nixon’s daughter Trisha married Edward Cox at the White House. I asked my mom if she and my dad had gotten married like that (apparently, at the tender age of 3 ½ years old, it hadn’t quite registered with me that my grandfather was not the President of the United States). She told me that no, when she got married it was small and quiet. I informed her that someday when I got married it would be big and loud……and so began my more is more philosophy.  

Who doesn’t love a good wedding; the beautiful bride, the pretty bridesmaids, the agreeable groom, the gorgeous flowers? Whenever I glance through our copy of Town & Country magazine, I immediately flip to the last few pages to see the pictures of all of the socialites that got married around the country. I love to see the styles of dresses that the brides chose, read their fancy schmancy names and decide whether or not the bride and groom really match up. The whole experience is so much more satisfying when I give them an implausible and embellished back story.

My fascination with lavish weddings dates back as far as Lady Di and Prince Charles. I was 13 ½ years old that summer, and even I knew it wasn’t the greatest of ideas. Those May-December romances are tough enough, even in the best of circumstances, throw in the crown for the British Monarchy and you’ve got yourself some real trouble. However, who can resist the story of a lovely young girl becoming the most beautiful princess in the land? Lady Diana Spencer’s transformation into the beautiful Princess Diana was absolutely mesmerizing.   

While the Royal Wedding might have been an event, it was nothing compared to the nuptials of another Spencer; the marriage of Lucas Lorenzo Spencer and the lovely Laura Webber, famed Super-Couple from ABC’s General Hospital. I remember racing home from high school as a freshman to catch the last 20 minutes of the ceremony. Of course those were the days prior to the VCR, TIVO, HULU and DVR. They were so glamorous and happy (despite their sordid and tumultuous road to the altar).

It has been 30 years since we last had the pleasure of immersing ourselves in a true fairy tale wedding, but Friday, April 29th, prepare to be dazzled as the handsome Prince William marries his gorgeous and glamorous girl-next-door Kate Middleton. In a world fraught with trouble and turmoil, the nuptials of this beautiful young couple brings hope for a bright and wonderful future. I hope that they are blissfully happy!

More weddings, more celebrations, more fairy tales, more happy endings……..

To schedule an Interior Design appointment or a speaking engagement, please email me at moreismoremom@aol.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Life, More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

