The Imposter: Costume Jewelry….Keeping it Real


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about…..more organization! You know my mantra is more of everything is always better; however, managing all of my hoarding obsessions can be a full time job. There are only so many nooks and crannies in which to cram my collections. In fact, over cocktails a while back (clearly, a time when all great ideas are hatched) I was telling my neighbors that I thought in place of BUNCO or our now defunct book club (though perhaps we might take up reading more again), we should have what I would call; An Obsessive Collectors Walk. I see it as a series of events, where each girl would open their home for cocktails and appetizers (it’s all about an opportunity for chatting over wine and snacks) and share their favorite collections; kind of house-walk meets progressive dinner. Everyone collects something; books, coins, teapots, Fiesta-ware, antiques……costume jewelry.

Even if we owned a diamond mine (which we do not) I would have an affinity for costume jewelry (and shoes and handbags). One of my all time favorite, makes me laugh/makes me cry, movie quotes (movies: another obsession) is from Olympia Dukakis, as Clairee in Steel Magnolia’s, “The only thing that sets us a part from the animals is our ability to accessorize.” And the only way we are ever going to truly enjoy and use our collections is by keeping them easily accessible, viewed and organized. All it takes is a little creative thinking.

Years ago, my friend Missy introduced me to a smart solution for hanging necklaces and bracelets. Rather than storing them in pouches and boxes, shoved in a drawer, never to be seen again, simply hang them from the arm of a stand designed to display finger tip towels in your powder room. My towel racks have two tiers which are perfect for long necklaces and shorter link bracelets.

Now, storing cuff bracelets can be a bit more complicated as they don’t fit neatly on a rack. Why not use a pretty serving piece? Here I have selected a gorgeous silver piece that has three sections, which is perfect for safely corralling stretchy and thick bracelets beautifully.

 

Earrings are always difficult to store. A few years ago I was at the hardware store and spotted a few great tools for organizing smaller items. A clear acrylic nail and screw box is the absolute ideal way to store all of those pieces. There is a teensy little compartment for each and every individual item. I have a container for each; gold-tones, silver, pearls and rhinestones.

 

A slightly larger tool organizer shelf is a great means for storing larger and oddly shaped pieces, such as bangle bracelets and chunky necklaces. Another of my favorite tips is labeling. You’ll never be organized if you don’t know where everything is. I like to use my handy label maker to identify, at a glance, what treasure is hiding within each drawer.

A fabric covered box is the best way to keep pins dust-free and organized. Pins are a beautiful accessory on a jacket, sweater, hat, belt, or fabric tote-bag.

More treasure hunting, more organization, more beautiful pieces, more accessorizing….

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom, Personal Style

Leave a Reply

