Senioritis…………….


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about……..more staying motivated! A mere 9 weeks remain of my Nick’s high school career at the Be All and End All Academy. 15 years ago, on his first day of Pre-School, it never dawned on me that one day this time would come. At the moment however, for Nick at least, these last 9 weeks can’t end soon enough. The other evening he came down to dinner to in form us that he’s got a bad case of “SENIORITIS”!

I was curious; what exactly is senioritis? With Wikipedia being the go to source for all knowledge, information and trivia, I went straight to the experts! In the immortal words of the Wiki gods, they define the “symptoms” of this unfortunate condition:    

The main symptoms of senioritis include procrastination, lack of motivation, a drop in academic performance, a desire to drop out of school, and “coasting”, which is the act of going through classes with very little concentration or application of intent along with truancy and frequent tardiness.[citation needed] This often happens in the last year of Grammar School, high school, college or even graduate school.

O-M-G! Had I only been smart enough to hang on until the end of my senior year of high school. Sadly, I was afflicted with this disorder of disastrous proportion by the middle of the 10th grade! My biggest motivation wasn’t to pay attention to my school work, because, to quote 80’s pop singing sensation, Cyndi Lauper, “Girls Just Want to Have Fun”. Like a complete idiot, I was drawn to hanging out at the Mc Donald’s across the street. There we could ogle the cute teenage boys from the neighboring Catholic, all boys’ school. In truth, my diploma should probably have come from Mc Donald’s University.   

As a result of my illustrious high school career, my poor children are the unfortunate benefactors of my bad behavior. Truly, if I could go back in time and change one thing, I would totally have focused more on my school work. Therefore, because of my lackluster performance, my people wouldn’t dream of trying to get away with the same kind of monkey business that I did. They are hard working, dedicated and accomplished students, though you can’t blame a guy for trying. After surviving 7 semesters at the Be All and End All Academy, Nick decided that maybe dropping Physics would be a good idea. Um….I don’t think so. Then he thought, as a 4th year Latin student, maybe it was time to bag out of Latin. Yeah, I don’t think that’s a swell idea either. Do as I say, not as I did!

Over the years, watching what an amazingly dedicated student Nick is, I completely get it. Senior year is stressful; the school work, the college applications, the essays and the exams. For 7 semesters he’s worked relentlessly and is emotionally drained. So, here at the end, if he’s got a little senioritis, who could blame him? I say Senior Ditch Day here he comes!

More hard work, more dedication, more understanding, more rewards…..

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

