How Many Fire Fighters Does It Take To Remove A Ring?


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about…..more Daylight Savings Time! While my favorite day of the year is when we turn our clocks back, my least favorite day is when we spring forward. Who can possibly afford to lose an hour? I’m always up to my eyeballs in paperwork, laundry, grocery shopping, cleaning, carpooling……and getting my ring stuck on my finger…….

Friday morning, I had a bee in my bonnet to scrub down our bathroom with Lysol with bleach; perfect time to take off my rings and soak them in jewelry cleaning solution. Efficiency totally rocks. Of course, I didn’t leave quite enough time to get ready, so I instead of putting my wedding ring back on, I grabbed my gold bamboo band and raced out the door. 20 some odd years ago, Chuck gave me a beautiful gold link bracelet. I wore it everywhere. Over time the links broke and because of its sentimental value, I had it melted down and made into a beautiful, thick bamboo band.

I’m not exactly sure what happened, but it went south fast. Saturday morning I took off the band, putting it right back on, no problem. However, when I went to bed Saturday night my fingers felt a bit swollen. I woke up in a sweat at 2:00am (which was really 3:00am thanks to that stinking Daylights Saving Time) and I couldn’t remove the ring. In a panic, I went down to the kitchen to soak my hand in ice water. I slathered it with lotion, pulling and tugging and could only get the ring up to my knuckle. Now I was really stressed. I continued to ice and tug, but to no avail. I lied down, with my hand up over my head, which didn’t alleviate the swelling. At 3:45, in a panic, I decided I should go outside in an attempt to reduce my body temperature. Wandering through the cul-de-sac didn’t seem to help; in fact, it was getting worse, red and fat, and I looked like a crazed escaped mental patient. I’m sure my frantic disposition was only making matters worse. In a final effort, I wrapped my finger in an ice pack, lying down with my hand up over my head, but again, nothing. Finally, I had to cry UNCLE, and went to bed.

When I awoke, my finger was really swollen and irritated with all of that panicking and tugging. I Google-d swollen finger solutions, and my best bet was a visit to my local fire department.

Chuck and I arrived at Station Number One, where the fire fighters couldn’t have been nicer. They dug out their cutting wheel and immediately got to work trying to free me from my beloved bamboo band. This was one thick, stubborn ring! I was almost free, with a sliver of metal left to cut through, when the blade broke. Without a spare, my only option was to head to Station Number Three.

They were expecting us. Luckily, there weren’t any fires around town, so we had the entire station to ourselves. Everyone’s a comedienne, recommending the Jaws of Life or a Sawzall (hopefully not the one used at Northwestern). As the fire fighters were searching for the cutting wheel, the fire fighters from Station One pulled up, quickly resuming their mission; Operation Bamboo Ring Removal. With the new cutting wheel, they were able to quickly finish the job!

 

Instead of losing one hour, we lost two. Now, I don’t know how I’ll ever catch up on all of the paperwork, laundry, grocery shopping, cleaning and carpooling! Though, I suppose it will be a lot easier with the use of all of my digits!

More rings, more fingers, more helpful fire fighters, more Daylights Savings Time……

2 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

2 responses to “How Many Fire Fighters Does It Take To Remove A Ring?

  1. Brenda

    Should have called your handy-dandy hand surgeon!!!

    • Seriously, what is it with us and fingers? Though swollen beats the heck out of detached! Had I been a little more panicky, Rick could have expected me on your doorstep! I am a dork…..

Leave a Reply

