Hunting for Treasure…..


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about…..more hunting for treasures! Were I ever to have read Nancy Drew (I was more of a Laura Ingalls Wilder and Maud Hart Lovelace fan), I know that yesterday, I would have been just like her; amateur detective, solving the mystery of lifestyle and product trends. There is little that I like more than treasure hunting, so I was excited to spend the day at Chicago’s McCormick Place visiting the 2011 International Home and Housewares Show.

Suddenly, it dawned on me. While visiting my favorite retail stores always provides a great source of happiness and gratification; their delightful inventories of merchandise represent only a sliver of the world’s amazing products. I’m a resourceful gal. Why wouldn’t I go straight to the source and see it all for myself? Armed with my buyers badge, business cards, my hot pink and polka dot rolling suitcase (you’ve got to put all of those brochures someplace) and my very own stapler (…..to secure business cards to brochures. These people were quite impressed. Apparently they didn’t realize that mothers are always prepared. I also carried my camera, a nail file, band-aides and gum.).   

For me, it was like having a private audience with the Pope, though I do realize I was surrounded my thousands of people. It was like driving past acres of farmland, but instead of corn as high as an elephant’s eye, row after row, aisle after aisle, as far as the eye could see, there was the most beautiful merchandise……..

 

I walked about a thousand miles, but I wasn’t tired. It was so exciting! I cruised through the Cooking and Bakeware aisles with their muffin tins, cookie cutters and baking dishes. Of course, Kitchen Accessories was a blast! Keeping up with the times and tossing convention to the wind, some of the vendors were forward thinking, playful and fun! Household chores needn’t be complete drudgery. Liven it all up a bit with sassy patterns and energetic colors. Talk about whistling while you work.

 

My favorite, however, were the Tabletop vendors. You know how much I love to set a beautiful table! There were linens, chargers, dinnerware, glassware, flatware and serving pieces by the droves; each manufacturer more beautiful than the next.

In my past life, I wasn’t Cleopatra or Marie Antoinette. I wasn’t Joan of Arc or Lady Godiva. I was probably a shop keeper. In fact, because of my affinity for beautiful things, I’ve always wanted to open a store with stylish and unique home furnishings and accessories; everything one could possibly need to create a beautiful home.

I always ask my kid’s, “Are you going to talk the talk? Or walk the walk?” While I’m going to start out small, I’ve decided it’s time for me to walk the walk. As I discover new and exciting products that I think will enhance the way we live and help us create memorable experiences to share with our family and friends, I am going to make them available on my website. Coming soon…..the More is More Mom Collection.

More treasures, more housewares, more home décor, more creating meaningful life experiences……

4 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

4 responses to “Hunting for Treasure…..

  1. I thought of you the other day. I saw a license plate that said LUVTJMAX (or something like that).
    I cracked up.
    Love reading all your entries. I get so many ideas from you. I’ve been keeping my eyes open for the “perfect Vanessa hurricanes”.

    • Now I have to get that license plate!!! You’re too cute!
      I’m sure you are excited for the break in the weather to get Kate outside so you girls can enjoy the fresh air. Be well!!

  2. Patty O

    I loved reading about your wonderful day!!! You have awesome taste I can’t wait for you to bring the treasures to your website!!!

Leave a Reply

