Pizza Pie….That’s Amore!


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about…….more pizza pies! We are a family food obsessed. My pals are forever asking, “What do we have to eat?” They never ask useful questions like, “Mom, would you like me to help you with the laundry?” Or, “Dad, can I mow the lawn for you?” The questions are typically followed up with, “Why don’t we ever have anything good to eat in this house?” Never mind the five trips I make to the grocery store each week, or the fact that the pantry is bursting at the seams and I can scarcely close the door. The fridge is overstuffed with food, glorious food. Apparently, however, there’s nothing……inspired.

So, what’s for lunch? Soup, grilled cheese, turkey sandwiches on nice soft bread, PB&J, scrambled eggs, waffles, cereal, Spaghettio’s, leftovers. Totally boring. Because my family is under the impression that I am a short order cook, we came upon the idea to “build your own pizza.” Build it on a Boboli and it’s even easier; something satisfying for everyone.

Boboli Built Pizza        

For the four of us, I’ll usually prepare three full size Boboli’s. It’s nice to have a few extra crusts on hand, especially the mini 8” size, for quick snacks when the kids have friends stop by. Teenagers are always hungry, but they’re never too old to build their own pizza.

I like to assemble our favorite toppings while I’m warming up the oven.

Pre-heat oven to 400°

Chuck and Amanda are Italian Sausage fans. With a quick stop by the butcher department of my grocery store, I’m able to purchase just a few links of sausage, all that I really need.

I remove the casings and brown the meat in a small skillet. Actually, if I know that we’ll be fixing our Boboli pizzas the following day, I’ll cook the sausage ahead of time and store it in a sealed container. While I pre-heat the oven, I’ll zap the sausage in the microwave for a few minutes.

Now my Nick, he’s a pepperoni guy. Rather than purchase the pre-packaged pepperoni, which is kind of gross and greasy, I stop by my grocer’s deli department. I figure it takes 10-12 slices to cover a 12” crust, so that’s exactly what I purchase. No waste. The good thing about pepperoni is that it stays nicely in the refrigerator for a longer duration than your average cold cut.

Our favorite ingredients:

Italian sausage, cooked and crumbled

Pepperoni, sliced

Black olives, sliced

Kalamata olives, sliced

Tomato, thinly sliced

Red onion, thinly sliced

Basil, thinly sliced

Mozzarella, shredded

Mozzarella, sliced

Goat cheese, crumbled

Prepared pizza sauce

Olive oil

I lightly brush each crust with olive oil

For the kids, I layer;

Meat

Sauce

Cheese, shredded

Olives

For Chuck and myself, I layer;

½ Cheese, sliced

½ Cheese, crumbled

Tomato

Meat

Basil

Olives

Onions

Cook for 15-20 minutes

Slice and serve….

More lunch options, more tasty pizza, more meals together…..

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

