Feast Day of the Patron Saint of Teen Idols….Donny Osmond!!


 

 

As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about…….more Donny Osmond! Today, December 9, I celebrate the birth of my beloved Donny Osmond. Perhaps to you he is just “A little bit rock n’ roll”, but to me, he is oh so much more. He represents the care free days of my childhood, where I would listen to his records on our turntable for hours, doodling “I Love Donny” all over the back of the jacket covers. While others may have come and gone (Shaun Cassidy and Andy Gibb), Donny was, and will always be, my number one Teen Idol. In his honor, today, I am calling everyone Marie and am wearing my purple socks and a rhinestone studded jumpsuit, which looks a little strange at the grocery store, but I’m not in the least bit embarrassed to share my devotion to Donny Osmond with the world!

This year marked our 4th season as avid viewers of the highly acclaimed television program Dancing with the Stars. While I did love Jennifer Grey, I must say, that Kyle Masse was quite spitfire! I have to admit I was kinda 50-50. We tuned in to DWTS four years ago, for the first time, as a show of support for Olympic Gymnast Shaun Johnson (my Amanda is gymnast, so we were rather partial). Our second season was something truly special however; it was a battle of the Teen Heart Throbs: Aaron Cater versus Donny Osmond. I love that cute little Aaron Carter just as much as the next gal, but come on; did he really think he stood a chance against THE Donny Osmond? Throw in a little Justin Bieber (and I do mean little. He’s such a wee, little cutie petutie, I could put him in my pocket!) and you might have had an interesting competition, yet one that would have ended with the same result. Well, 4 seasons ago, unless you were living under a rock, you know that Donny reigned supreme. Was there ever really any doubt? Of course not! That Disco Ball trophy belonged to one dancer and one dancer only: The Patron Saint of Teen Idols himself.

If I were stranded on a desert island, and could only bring five Donny songs with me to sustain me for the duration of my stay, they would have to be:
1. Yo-Yo
2. Soldier of Love
3. One Bad Apple
4. Sweet and Innocent
5. Saving the best for last….Puppy Love

But, since I am not stranded on a desert island, I am free to listen to my Donny songs at any time, day or night, because….our love affair is not a Puppy Love……….

More devotion, more love, more teen idols…….

3 Comments

Filed under Family Life, Friendship, More is More Mom

3 responses to “Feast Day of the Patron Saint of Teen Idols….Donny Osmond!!

  1. Lori

    Cute, real cute! 🙂

  2. Brenda Cornwell

    I’m with you! Happy Birthday Donny!!!!

  3. mrs lily

    Did you know I waited in line after Joseph to get his autograph while he signed them in his car. Mike cowered in a doorway.

Leave a Reply

