Business and Pleasure….


As the More is More Mom®, I am all about….sharing my philosophy about how to make life more special! Today, I’m off to Chicago’s Merchandise Mart to set up for a speaking engagement. Tuesday, I will be the featured speaker at a meeting of the International Furnishings and Design Association. I can’t wait to share my tips and inspirations about how to make celebrating Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas more meaningful…

You know that my mantra is; More of everything is always better, which includes making more memories with your family and friends. There is absolutely nothing better than sharing good company, good food, good music, good wine (with an emphasis on the wine) and good times! In my mind, every event, big or small should be celebrated. What better way to honor your family and friends?

 

For days I have been trolling my attic, basement and every nook and cranny in order to assemble the perfect setting for celebrating the holidays! You should see my truck. It’s stacked to the rafters with table linens, dinnerware, glassware, flatware, napkins, serving pieces, busts, urns, pumpkins, candelabras, floral arrangements, ornaments, accessories, and even scary critters. If possible, it’s even more full than the time my gal pals and I road tripped for my first ever girls weekend, instead, this time, I am road tripping to the Design Capital of Chicago; the Merchandise Mart.

It’s a magical place, full of beauty, opulence and possibility. As a designer, I think that’s what I like the best; the idea of endless possibilities for expressing yourself, and creating a safe and happy environment for nurturing your family. It’s an idea that is certainly very appealing. Life is serious business. The very least we can do is make our surroundings lovely.

That’s one of my favorite parts about entertaining…allowing yourself to indulge in the fantasy of your gathering. Hosting friends in your home should be fun! I can’t wait to share with you all that I have in store; over the top tablescapes meant to make your family and friends feel special.

The very best part of my day tomorrow is spending it with my Amanda and her pal Coco. They are kind enough to spend their day off of school, celebrating the life and times of Christopher Columbus, with me, settling in for my big day at the Mart. These two have been thick as thieves since the first grade and now they are enjoying the journey of high school together. How fun is that? This is what’s it all about; spending time with the people that you love. It doesn’t matter what you’re doing, as long as you’re doing it together. They are planning to head into the city with me and take the Merchandise Mart by storm!  We’ll be unloading my car, visiting the showrooms, borrowing a few items to put the finishing touches on my tablescapes. I’m looking forward to it. We’ll start our day with some doughnuts and hot chocolate from Starbucks, do a little work, and have a little lunch. Most importantly, we’ll be doing it together.

More work, more interesting experiences, more bonding together…..

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertaining, Friendship, Interior Design, More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

