It’s the Apron Before the Apron…We’ve Got Ourselves a Situation!


As the More is More Mom®, I have been all about……..more television magic! It’s not every day that you get to throw a party on TV, much less on Chicago’s very own ABC-7 News at 11AM.

You know my motto; More of Everything is Always Better, which includes over the top party preparations. I was so excited for the chance to share my More is More Mom® philosophy that I couldn’t wait to develop a delectable menu and design a luscious tablescape.  Inspiration is, of course, followed by perspiration……

 

I shopped my basement (attic, closets, drawers, nooks and crannies) for beautiful serving pieces and accessories. That’s always my favorite part, putting the pieces of the puzzle together to create something memorable. I even made a new table topper to enhance my design. I’m crazy about authenticity and details and once I was happy with my buffet display, I snapped a photo so I wouldn’t forget a single detail. Then I packed, stacked and bubble wrapped.

With my menu in hand, I hit Costco, Dominick’s and Whole Foods, a trifecta of culinary delights. I sliced, diced, washed, chopped, prepped, cooked and stored everything for easy transportation to the studio.

 

The Apron Before The Apron…

 

The Apron…

My biggest dilemma? The apron. I always like to coordinate with my theme, so I was on a mad search for the perfect apron. When my pal Judy offered to make one for me to match my table design and menu, I jumped at the chance. She is a beautiful seamstress, while I am a home-made costume sewer. I can insert a zipper if you promise not to look too closely and if you understand that there will be wrestling involved with getting it to go up and down. Maybe even some WD-40.

However, I was nervous about spilling on my new apron while I was prepping before the segment, so I wore another apron while I was getting ready. It was the apron before the apron. I’m like the boys on the Jersey Shore with the shirt before the shirt. We’d practically be twins if I spent my days on GTL (Gym, Tan, Laundry….though I am always up to my eyeballs in laundry), instead I CCDB (Cook, Clean, Decorate, Blog). Looks like I’ve got myself….a situation!

It was such an exciting day, but there was so much to be done! I went for a quick run at 5:30AM, and upon my return I realized that I had forgotten to seal the gigantic bag of toasted baguette bread before I went to bed Sunday night. Rats! It was stale. At least I didn’t forget to put away the New York Strip Steaks. Chuck is the world’s greatest husband and ran out to pick up two more loves. While I was getting ready, he sliced and toasted the bread and grilled the pork tenderloin. Our neighbors must have been wondering what kind of crazy party we were having at 6:30 in the morning. I dragged Nick out of bed to help load up the truck. I always maintain that the reason we have sons is to do all of the heavy lifting. We were loaded up and on the road by 7:15, swinging by to pick up my friend Julia along the way.

Being in a real studio was sooooo exciting! It was like being on the Mary Tyler Moore Show. I was waiting for news anchor Ted Baxter to appear at any moment (but my chances for a Sue Ann Nivens sighting were so much better…..because Betty White still happens to be alive). We had a blast! Julia, my Amanda and I had everything unpacked and ready for show time, in no time. Judy Hsu and Ben Bradley were wonderful and the crew was awesome. It was a great experience.

More decorating, more food shopping, more cooking, more transporting, more setting up, more sharing……more fun than I could have ever imagined!

8 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

8 responses to “It’s the Apron Before the Apron…We’ve Got Ourselves a Situation!

  1. Sandy Gazzano

    Watched the news this morning and saw your segment. It was great. Can’t wait to try some of those recipes. They looked awesome!

  2. Catherine

    You were fabulous! Congratulations!

  3. Great job Vanessa! I found it slightly funny that I managed to catch your segment while I was ironing a shirt and putting the finishing touches on a salad and dessert I was taking to a party.
    Seemed appropriate. 🙂
    You were awesome!

  4. Jeannie

    You did a great job Vanessa! You were a natural. The food looked great and I loved the apron!

Leave a Reply

