Boom Boom Pow!


As the More is More Mom®, I can’t get enough of….more time with girlfriends and the Black Eyed Peas!! Tuesday morning, I got a text message from one of my dearest and favorite-est friends, Elena, asking me if I would like to go with her to see the Peas in concert. You know what a big hip hop fan I am (sorry Donny, my love, Patron Saint of Teen Idols). My immediate response was:

People in the place

If you wanna get down

Put your hands in the air

Will.I.Am drop the beat now

 

Love it! The last two concerts I’ve seen were for the teen set. Taylor Swift was beautiful and charming. Justin Bieber was so darn cute I wanted to put him in my pocket. But the Peas? They were FANTASTIC!

With racing my people around all summer; to the pool, to the movies, to tournaments, and entertaining teeny boppers in our home, there hasn’t been too much time to reconnect with my girlfriends. Well, Boom, Boom Pow….this was it!

We girls met for a little pre-concert dinner and a few cocktails. With reservations at 5:30pm on a Friday, the only other patrons were families with toddlers, but, hey, we were out. And besides, they weren’t our toddlers. Dinner was great. There’s just nothing like good old fashioned girl talk and catching up. To get the total “Rock Star” experience we did indulge in a limo, which is way cheaper than a DUI and a lot more fun.

The Allstate Arena (which will always be the Rosemont Horizon to me) was swarming with beautiful people. I loved that most everyone got into the spirit of the night, treating the concert like a special event. The ladies were in their sparkly, gladiator sandaled finest, an ode to the glamour of “The Duchess”.

Our tickets were split, so we said our farewells at the gate. Elena and KV went one way, and I got to spend the evening with my dear pal Linda (we met as volunteers when our 9th graders were Kindergarteners at Our Lady of Perpetual Donations). Other than loving these girls because I love these girls, I love them because they love to dance (like the Energizer Bunny. They just keep going and going and going and going)!

I can name that tune in 6 notes… Let’s Get it Started! And boy did they ever ( which, BTW, was the first song I played at my 40th and got the party started on the dance floor with my friend PT.). I really didn’t know what to expect, but I was lovin’ the whole clubbin’, futuristic vibe. It’s not often that suburban moms get to feel “cool”.

Hit after heart pounding hit; Don’t Phunk With My Heart, Imma Bee, which apparently is slang for “I am going to be” (no wonder our children can’t read or speak proper English), My Humps. The Peas were awesome.

 

Nothing, however, compares to the amazing Fergie. What a voice! I had no idea. She belted out a few chart toppers of her own; Fergalicious (and she was), Glamorous and Big Girls Don’t Cry (not to be confused with the Frankie Valli song by the same name).

Will.I.Am, Fergie, Apl.De and Taboo brought the house down with Where is The Love? (the answer: right there with me and my peeps). The audience was a sea of glowing cell phones, swaying from side to side, like lighters in the olden days. Naturally, the encore was I’ve Got a Feeling (Tonight’s Gonna Be A Good Night). Actually, it was a great night. What could be more fun than rockin’ out at a concert and making more memories with your girlfriends?

2 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

2 responses to “Boom Boom Pow!

  1. Deborah

    Love the Peas too! Sounds like it was an awesome concert with awesome company to boot:)

  2. Linda

    Great blog!! The Peas were so much fun!!

Leave a Reply

