More Fantastic Appetizers…the Onion Tartlet!


As the More is More Mom®, this weekend I made…..more onion tartlets! There is nothing like a sweet and savory appetizer. In fact, I brought 200 of them to a party and they won rave reviews. While the tartlets are quite lovely and elegant, the real beauty of this recipe is that they are prepared in advance and served at room temperature. Now that is a special treat!

 

Sweet Onion Tartlets:

This recipe could not be more economical; flour, eggs, onions. What could be more reasonable?

The Dough:

You can make a single batch that produces 20 tartlets, but these are so good, you’ll want to double the recipe at the very least.

I used my Kitchen-Aid mixer to make the dough, but I have made these by hand plenty of times. No matter how you prepare the dough, I guarantee they will be delicious.

For 20 tartlets, in a mixing bowl, sift;

 

1 cup of all purpose flour

¼ tsp of salt

Cut in;

2 ½ ounces butter (about 4 ½ Tbsp)

Continue until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.

Making a well in the center, add;

2 Tbsp peppercorns, crushed. I like the multi-colored mélange for their spicy variety. I grind the peppercorns with a mortar and pestle.

1 egg yolk

2 tsp Dijon mustard (you could use one, but where would be the flavor in that?)

Mix well. Add;

2 tsp water at least, but you may likely need more. The point is that you want the dough to be moist, not crumbly.

 

On a lightly floured surface, turn until pressed together into a ball.

 

Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 20 minutes.

Pre-heat the oven to 400°

Lightly grease 20 holes in a mini-muffin tin. I prefer butter to non-stick spray. I’m a sucker for authenticity of all sorts.

 

Roll the dough out on a lightly floured surface to about 1/8” thickness.

 

Cut 20 rounds with a 3” cutter. I use the mouth of a wine glass and it works like a charm.

 

 

Place the cut out dough in the tin, press lightly into place and prick with a fork.

 

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until a beautiful golden brown.

 

Remove from the oven, cool and store in an airtight container until ready to use. These can be made a few days in advance. Isn’t that incredible?

The Onion Filling:

I kid you not. I made this recipe times 12 and cut up 36 onions. My house and my garage smelled like onions for days!

In a lightly oiled large skillet, toss together;

 

3 onions sliced (again, I’ve sliced by hand, but in order to cut the onions in a more uniform fashion ~oh, and because I was slicing 36 onions~ I used the mandolin. Be careful so you keep all of your digits in tact.)

2 cloves of garlic, I prefer pressed to sliced so they blend more seamlessly.

 

Cover and cook on low heat for 30 minutes, or until the onion is very soft and beginning to brown.

Increase heat to medium, add;

 

2 tsp sugar

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Continue to cook, stirring until most of the liquid has evaporated and the onions are nicely caramelized.

 

Remove from the heat, stir in;

 3 Tbsp raisins

Store in an airtight container and refrigerate until ready to use. The onions can be prepared several days in advance.

When ready to serve;

I purchased disposable aluminum trays with lids for easy transportation. If I am bringing a course to someone’s home, I will ordinarily bring it on a platter that I purchase as a gift for my hostess. In this case I was bringing 200 tartlets. I brought them in disposable containers so as not to burden my hosts with the obligation of washing and returning my pans to me. I also brought my host two bouquets of gladiolus (I’m crazy for them this week) and purchased a lovely, footed vase as a gift. There is nothing worse than bringing your host flowers and then expecting them to drop everything and find a vase.

Select a platter. Fill each tartlet with 1 tsp of the onion mixture. Top with crumbled feta cheese and serve.

I guarantee your guests will be coming back for…..more!

6 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

6 responses to “More Fantastic Appetizers…the Onion Tartlet!

  1. Tes

    Wow these tartlets sound amazing. They look adorable. My family will love it.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

  2. delicious, and the guests asked for more to take home 😛

  3. Darcy.

    Well I gotta tell you. Fanfreakintastic! I tweeked the recipe just a bit adding some tandoori spice and pecans, but yea…awesome reviews from all who ate them. I am sharing this recipe/page with my friends. tyvm.

Leave a Reply

