Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Mousse Recipe…


I don’t normally indulge in dessert, save for the occasional handful of the hard to resist M n M’s. I usually save my calories for Pino Grigio. My Bastille Day Feast, however, was the exception. As the More is More Mom®, I made the most sinfully delicious…..Chocolate Mousse!

 Fancy desserts can be intimidating, but this one is really rather simple.

 In a small sauce pan, melt;

¾ cup raspberry jam (jam, jam, here comes the jam)

Stir occasionally. Remove from heat once smooth.

Add;

1 Tbsp raspberry liquor or orange juice (I chose the OJ because I later in the recipe I choose the brandy. Once liquor, shockingly, seems like enough)

Set aside to cool.

In another small sauce pan, over low heat, melt;

3 ounces semi-sweet chocolate (I am partial to Ghirardelli)

1 ounce bittersweet chocolate (I tried Nestles and it was yummy)

Stir until smooth and remove from heat.

Stir in and combine well;

2 Tbsp honey

1 Tbsp brandy or orange juice (this is where I went with the brandy…she’s a fine girl, what a good wife she would be….If you’re as old as I am you can name that tune in 7 bars.)

1 Tbsp heavy whipping cream

Transfer to a large bowl and set aside.

In a chilled large mixing bowl, beat;

2 ½ cups whipping cream

1 Tbsp pure vanilla (imitation is not the sincerest form of flattery in this instance)

2 Tbsp sugar

Beat until stiff soft peeks form.

Set aside 1 cup of whipped cream for garnishing (garny is as well suited to dessert as it is to appetizers and entrees. It just makes everything feel more special.)

 

Stir ½ cup of whipping cream into chocolate mixture.

Fold remaining whipped cream into chocolate mixture and you’ve got yourself one amazing dessert. For the official unveiling;

Evenly spoon mixture into 6 stemmed wine glasses or dessert dishes (I selected a wide mouthed, footed dessert dish, with a charming hob nail trim)

Top evenly with reserved whipped cream and raspberry sauce.

Draw a vegetable peeler over remaining chocolate squares, creating lovely, shaved curls on top of the whipped cream.

Cover individually with plastic wrap and chill for 1-6 hours, or overnight (always my favorite method)

Treat yourself and your guests to a more special and decadent dessert!

3 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

3 responses to “Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Mousse Recipe…

  1. Great idea, thanks for this post!

  2. Brenda

    I’m sorry, Vanessa, but that first picture looks like a human liver! But, I am going to try this recipe, even though I know it will fail, like all recipes in my kitchen. That’s ok, I’ll keep trying! I wish I had your panache!!!!

Leave a Reply

