You’ve Got A Friend In Me…..Toy Story 3!


“You’ve got a friend in me…” I’m a sucker for a trilogy; Star Wars, Raider’s of the Lost Ark, Rocky I, II, III (and then of course, the second trilogy IV, V, VI), Harry Potter, The Chicago Bulls…..

 

We are a movie going family. When Nicholas and Amanda were peanuts, an outing to the show was an event. When they were little, we saw just about everything (and then we would see it on Ice!), however, I’ve always had a soft spot for Toy Story.

While away at his golf tournament, Nick and I had time to sneak in a visit to the Mega-plex. I really wanted to see Toy Story 3, but Nick thought that was just plain silly. Instead we saw Eclipse, which wasn’t silly, but merely ridiculous. For the life of me, I cannot fathom the appeal (though that Jacob is pretty darn cute.). Nick elbowed me every time I laughed out loud (not that it was funny). Needless to say, my arm was sore. 

Finally, this past Saturday was the day. I was not bothered in the very least that we didn’t have a child to take to see Toy Story 3 (and we didn’t have Nick either.). So, it was just the three of us; Chuck, Amanda and me. We saw all kinds of previews (my favorite part of the movie going experience is the coming attractions. I love catching a glimpse of things to come.). Why are all these new movies in 3D? Seriously, 3D gives me motion sickness and I would hate to have to wear a special motion sickness patch or a bracelet just to go to the movie theater.

 

At long last, images of Woody and Buzz flickered across the screen. It was like reconnecting with an old friend (one without a Facebook page). Andy is all grown up (really? He’s only 17. How grown up could he be?). He’s heading off to college. Please, stop Disney-Pixar, you’re killing me; next year my Nick is heading off to college.

Heart-tugging madness ensues when Woody and the other toys get separated from one another. Woody is headed off to college with Andy, while the other toys get relegated to the attic (now I’m wondering if that’s how Nick’s toys in the attic feel; the fire trucks and the Mighty Ducks must surely be lonely up there, longing to be played with.).

The dialogue is so consistently smart and clever. The entire experience is highly entertaining, but the most remarkable thing about Toy Story is the message of a shared past, memories, acceptance, loyalty and devotion. As the More is More Mom®, I am going to take more time this year to savor these moments that we have with Nick; more time, more experiences, more growth, more fun, more memories……

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

