More Dessert….Lemon Bars!


Exhausted from already having celebrated the Faux of July, my dear friend, Julia, invited us over to celebrate the 4th of July with all of her family and friends. It would have been completely boring and predictable for us to bring a dessert that I’ve already blogged about; today, as the More is More Mom®, I am all about……more dessert!

You know of my addiction to chocolate, so naturally I whipped up a batch of chocolate chip cookies (with the chunks instead of the chips. Way more chocolate-y!), but I also wanted to bring something light and dreamy. Lemon bars would certainly do the trick!

Lemon Bars:

This recipe is so simple! If you are one to stock your bar with lemons, it’s likely you won’t even need to make a run to the grocery store to whip these bars into shape. The instructions and particulars are for a single batch. As the More is More Mom®, you totally know I made it a double….

Heat oven to 350°

Line a 13×9 baking pan with aluminum foil (lovin’ the easy clean up!)

 

In a medium bowl, combine;

2 cups of all purpose flour

½ cup confectioners’ sugar

½ tsp salt

 

With a pastry blender, cut in;

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter chilled

I sliced the butter in to small chunks and used my hand mixer, with the pastry paddles. Blend until the mixture resembles fine bread crumbs. It worked like a charm!

 

Pat the crumbled mixture, evenly, into the bottom of the foil lined pan.

Bake crust for about 20 minutes, until it’s a pale golden color.

In a mixing bowl, combine;

1 – 14 ounce can of sweetened condensed milk

4 eggs

Beat with an electric mixer.

Add;

¾ cp fresh lemon juice (I used bottled and increased the amount of lemon zest. It was perfection.)

1 Tbsp flour

1 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

3 Tbsp grated lemon zest (the sweet scent of summer….btw, the recipe calls for 1 Tbsp, but that just doesn’t seem like nearly enough.)

 

Mix until well blended.

Pour over crust. Bake for an additional 20-25 minutes (or until just set in the center).

 

Cool, cut and serve.

I didn’t cut up my bars until the following say. It was so easy. Lift the aluminum foil out of the pan; slide off the foil and onto a cutting board. As OCD girl, I was at it again. I always cut away the edges for a nice uniform appearance.

 

Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Garnish (everyone appreciates the appearance of garnish) with mint leaves and raspberries. NOTE: For transportation purposes, I removed the raspberries and put on the finishing touches at the party.

When I am a fortunate enough to be a guest, I always try to bring a thoughtful hostess gift. In this particular instance, I was bringing dessert, so it was only natural that my hostess gift would be a serving piece. I wanted something large that would accommodate all the bars and cookies. This round, crocodile embossed, silver platter was perfect. It’s nice and shiny like the 4th of July and it can be lovingly used again and again.

 

We thoroughly enjoyed an evening of great friends, great conversation, great food, great wine and……more cherished memories!

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

