For a Good Time…Get Him to the Greek!


I know that it’s summer, not by the warm weather, sunshine (ha! if there ever were any) and gorgeous flowers, but by the number of times that we have been to the movies. The lazy days of summer are a beautiful thing…..

My mom is a total gamer that loves the movies (I would venture to say even more that we do!). She quotes lines from the Hangover with Nick. Seriously, only a very cool grandma would talk to her grandson about eating couch pizza. So when she read the reviews of Get Him to the Greek, she knew she had to see it with her Nick (fortunately she didn’t mind that Chuck and I tagged along to the Multi-plex too. Not to worry, Amanda and her pal CC saw the Karate Kid instead. What kind of parents do you think we are anyway?).

As with all good movie going experiences, our show started with the Coming Attractions (and a few even looked promising!).

• That Michael Cera is an unlikely leading man. I have not had the pleasure of seeing Superbad in its entirety, but he was super cute as Paulie Bleeker in Juno (I loved Juno! Everyone was fantastic, but Ellen Page and J.K. Simmons ~Juno’s dad and the editor in Spiderman~ were especially great!). In Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, our hero must defend the honor of his beloved Ramona and her League of Evil Exes (Boyfriends that is. 7 of them; 8 if you include the twins.). The previews are genius! I only hope it’s half as good as it looks.

• I don’t know what makes me think that this is potentially a good idea, but I kinda can’t wait to see The Other Guys. Some of Will Ferrell offerings (okay, Elf might be his only charming movie) can take a while to get accustomed to, but after you see them several times, you can’t help but like him. This is a seriously All Star cast; The Rock, Samuel L. Jackson (you know I think he’s one Bad Ass Mother F*#@*r!), Mark “Marky Mark” Wahlberg (BTW, when does HBO’s Entourage start up again?), the one and only Michael Keaton, and Eva Mendes….as Will Ferrell’s wife (totally plausible, because nothing else is plausible either). I am going to roll the dice and declare this one a winner (I hope I’m right, because I think I might be willing to pay full box office prices to find out.).

• Step Up 3D. Who approved this script? If this is what they think looks like a good idea, I shudder to even think about what might have been rejected.

• I like Josh Brolin and I love, love, love the super creepy John Malkovich, but I fear Jonah Hex may not be for me. I’m not a huge fan of the paranormal.

• Dinner for Schmucks….looks like a movie for schmucks. This one just isn’t grabbing me, though I am a fan of Paul Rudd (I have adored him since Clueless) and Zach Galifianakis (Fat Jesus. Another Hangover reference, sorry…). I might leave it on were I to be flipping channels on my cable-box.

• Matt Damon sure does make a lot of movies, though I think I am more of a Ben Affleck kind of gal. The Adjustment Bureau, with Emily Blunt (of Devil Wears Prada fame. She was also quite likeable in Sunshine Cleaning.). holds the promise of intrigue, drama and romance. I would expect nothing less of Jason Bourne.

With so many promising previews, I nearly forgot about the main attraction! I was a huge fan of Forgetting Sarah Marshall (though Jason Segal’s full frontal nudity was slightly uncomfortable), and when I saw that Russell Brand was going to reprise his role as Aldous Snow, I was psyched! Inconsistency drives me crazy however, so the only thing I had a hard time getting past was that in Forgetting Sarah Marshall Jonah Hill was a waiter on the island and in Get Him to the Greek he worked at a record company. Both characters worshipped rock star Aldous Snow. Perhaps the guy on the island was Jonah’s evil twin….

Get Him to the Greek (I thought they meant Jimmy the Greek, but I guess that dates me and doesn’t make any sense) was a wacky and hilarious buddy picture. Russell Brand is absolutely charming and delightful, kooky and dandy! Instead of portraying the completely moronic pot-head that he usually plays, Jonah Hill was wonderful, tender and interesting as Aaron Green. I just loved Get Him to the Greek.

While the plot was a complete romp, what made this movie so good was the largely witty dialogue and the complex character development of Aldous Snow (who could have totally been a one trick pony, and is instead endearing) and Aaron Greene (who was sympathetic and likeable). One of my favorite observations was when Aldous says to Aaron, “Off drugs, your life must be a baffling to do list.” As the More is More Mom®, don’t I know it?

Personally, I rate movies based on whether I would; pay full box office prices (an offensive fortune…movie makers, we need to talk), go to the bargain show, watch it on cable or wait until it is further butchered on basic television. Not only would I see this again at the show, but it will be a classic that I add to my collection as soon as it is released on DVD. As the More is More Mom® I want more Russell Brand and more Get Him to the Greek!

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

