Wrigley Loved his “Pup-accino” from Starbucks…


Wrigley……he’s my wingman.

One of his very favorite things to do is to go bye-bye in the car. Back in the good old days, when he was just a pup, he went everywhere with us. Wrigley would accompany us to the ice rink for all of Nicky’s hockey games and practices (before a mean poodle nibbled at a kid and management was forced to ban all dogs from the rink. Darn poodle! Ruining it for the rest of us.). When he was just two months old he would fall asleep in my arms like a baby, and the parents and kids would just pass him around. When the boys would take the ice he would bark, and Nick would beam with pride. Everyone thought we were crazy dog people (NO…just crazy Wrigley people.).

Nicky played baseball forever, so Wrigley became accustomed to attending 60 games a season. One of his coaches was great fun, and when none of the dads were available, he would allow me to sit in the dugout with Wrigley and score the game. It was awesome! Wrigley would roll around in the clay, getting completely filthy and dusty. He loved it (Okay, I loved it even more. I am smitten with this animal.)! I would always insist on bringing Wrigley with us no matter the weather. I maintained that we got him to be a part of our family, not to sit home alone in a crate. Being the huge baseball fan that he was, Wrigley would attend all of the games, even those in the blistering summer heat. The poor thing would crawl under my legs, trying to find a sliver of shade, and hide from the little kids that always wanted to pet him. Ah…..what fun!

But these days, life is pretty boring for Wrigley here in the cul-de-sac. Nick hasn’t played baseball for three years, and his kind is no longer permitted at the rink. So what is a dog to do? The best he could possibly hope for is a ride in the car……..

Well, yesterday my Wingman took a ride with me to drop Chuck off at the train, and Amanda at school. On our way home, we ran through the Starbucks drive thru to get my morning time beverage of choice; a hot chocolate (evenings are reserved for wine, and I think it’s a miracle I can wait that long). I really wish I were more like a grown up and enjoyed a cup of coffee, but I don’t. So, like a five year old I order hot chocolate, even in the summer. The Barista always looks at me like I’m a simpleton, not comprehending for a moment that an adult would be drinking a hot chocolate, especially in the summer heat…..

We pulled up to the window, Wrigley with his gi-normous head resting on the door, enjoying the warmth of the sun. All of the sudden he perked up, thinking that we were at the bank (a very nice place that dispenses treats to good little doggies. Actually, our bank permits dogs inside the building, so we frequently take a run to downtown Winsome to execute our banking transactions. You can only imagine the startled and surprised looks we get from both patrons and bank employees!). Wrigley was very hopeful that he might get a treat at the Starbucks window. I inquired as to whether or not Starbucks passed out dog treats, and the very nice gal replied that they no longer did, by order of the Health Department (don’t those people know that the mouths of dogs are cleaner than the mouths of humans? Or is that just a myth?). However, she asked if my dog might enjoy a cup of whipped cream? This guy has eaten bark off a tree, lattice off of our deck, a piece out of my shoe, Barbie’s hand, the arm rest off the door of my car…..yeah, I think he’d like a cup of whipped cream. As she handed it to me she declared, “Here’s your Pup-accino.”

He was so excited that he started to drool (I completely understand. I feel that way when I hit the jack pot at TJ Maxx and More, or any place else I find a steal for that matter.).Wrestling a 92 lb Labrador all the way home while you are driving an enormous SUV is no simple feet. I gave him the coveted cup of whipped cream in our driveway and let him have at it. Ah bliss………..

In a matter of seconds it was all over. Wrigley thoroughly enjoyed his Pup-accino from Starbucks, and is anxiously anticipating, More…….

5 Comments

Filed under More is More Mom

5 responses to “Wrigley Loved his “Pup-accino” from Starbucks…

  1. we love wrigs too. still remember when he was a puppy you would walk him and he would just pass out on the sidewalk and sleep

  2. Jill

    Wrigley isn’t alone. One of our cats also has a taste for whipped cream. She sits by the refrigerator and “asks” for it, and no cat food meal is complete without her little dessert. But, I had to laugh at the size of Wrigley versus the size of the cup. I think he warrants a Venti Pupaccino!

  3. Love it! I’m going to try and get one for my 75lb pup the next time we go through the drive thru!

Leave a Reply

