Chocolate Means Love…..


Ah….Sunday morning. Sunday is such a day of transition. Most weekends we have an opportunity to sleep in a little bit and enjoy a leisurely morning. Then about half way through the day it becomes apparent that there is a mad dash to the getting-prepared-for-the-upcoming-week finish line. It would certainly be nice if we had a three day weekend every week. When I am Queen of the World, that will be my very first order of business, a Three Day Weekend (right before I make the 9th of each month Donny Osmond Celebration Day, the 9th being in honor of his birth date, FYI).

I usually start my Sunday mornings by making Chocolate Chip Pancakes for the week (I swear sometimes we eat fruits and vegetables too, but chocolate makes us happy. Recently, Nick ate a box of 36 packages of Reece’s Peanut Buttercups from Cost Co, in 9 days. I guess that is kind of gross, but he argues that the peanut butter is protein. I suppose he’s got a point.). My pals like pancakes in the morning before school, unless Nick is running on Teenager Time and requests a toasted Pop Tart for the road. Only the best…..

Anyway, I prefer Mrs. Butterworth’s brand buttermilk pancake mix, and I make a double batch. I like the batter to be on the thicker side so my pancakes are nice and fluffy, which sometimes means I add a little extra mix at the end to achieve a thicker consistency. When I’m happy with the batter, I add a heaping serving of Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Mini’s.

I store my pancakes for the week in a 13×9 glass baking dish with a lid. I line the bottom of the dish with parchment paper, and then as I flip my pancakes I place them inside, topping them off with a little bit of butter and a hearty sprinkle of powdered sugar. I fit six pancakes per layer and place a piece of parchment paper in between each layer, so they don’t stick together. In the mornings we just warm them up, and top them with our favorite maple syrup, which happens to be Hungry Jack.

If my pals are really lucky, some Sunday mornings I make bacon (actually, if I am going to make a mess I will make 2 lbs of bacon). Years ago my cousin Terri taught me the most excellent bacon making secret ever (as a substitute to frying it in the pan with grease splattering everywhere and taking forever). Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. Line rimmed cookie sheets with foil (for easy clean up). For 2lbs of bacon, I need three large cookie sheets. Bake for 30-45 minutes, depending on how well done you prefer your bacon (I like crispy). Then for storage I line a Rubbermaid rectangular container with paper towel and layer the bacon with alternating sheets of Bounty (you know, my favorite…quicker picker upper) to absorb all of the grease, and refrigerate until ready for use. You’ll have days and days of savory bacon-y goodness! Just warm it up for a few seconds in the microwave and you have a tasty treat.

Greasy bacon and chocolate chip pancakes? I suppose we should just eat cookies for breakfast, but what kind of mother would that make me? POPULAR ……and the Best Mother Ever!

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

