Chicken Noodle Soup is Umm, Umm Good!


As the More is More Mom® I love more of everything, including making dinner for my family. This afternoon I am heading in to the city for an Interior Design Style Event and I won’t be home for dinner. We rarely eat out. I have found that my pals are always so busy that they typically prefer to be at home (except for Nick and his new found love of Chipotle), and besides, I must admit, I am a pretty good cook. I am all about planning ahead.

I knew that this was going to be a busy week with Amanda making her Confirmation last night (and family joining us for dinner at 4 o’clock in the afternoon), hockey games, seminars, homework and work, work, so planning ahead was imperative. My people LOVE chicken noodle soup; they like it enough to eat it twice a day, so today I made a great big heaping batch of Almost Home Made Chicken Noodle Soup. It’s so easy! In fact I prepared the ingredients on Monday, and tossed it all together this afternoon and voila…….dinner! It’s a soup and sandwiches kind of night.

This recipe is a family favorite from The Food Network.

Almost Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup:

For more, double and triple up!

½ medium onion, thinly sliced

1 small carrot, thinly sliced

2 stalks celery, thinly sliced

2 sprigs of flat leaf parsley rough chopped

2 sprigs fresh thyme

6 cups chicken broth, homemade or canned

½ cup water

Kosher salt and ground black pepper (I always prefer black cracked pepper)

1/3 pound wide egg noodles

1 ¼ cups shredded (chopped) chicken meat (from about one breast). I did this in advance, chopped it up and stored it in a Zip-Loc baggie lined with Bounty paper towels (my favorite brand because it is the quicker picker upper) to absorb the moisture ensuring the meat doesn’t get slimy over night. No one likes slimy food.

In a stock pot filled with chicken broth and water, put the onion, carrots, celery, thyme, parsley (again, I prepared these ingredients in advance and sealed them in a Zip-Loc baggie lined with a Bounty paper towel over night).

Bring to a simmer over medium high heat until the veggies are tender, which should take -5-10 minutes.

Add the noodles and cook until tender for another 5-8 minutes.

Add the chicken, warm through and add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with crackers or warm bread for a hearty and delicious treat!

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

