Smoky Corn Salsa; Good Enough to Eat With a Spoon, But a Frito’s Scoop Would Be So Much Better


I know that I am a complete and total control freak. I get it. I’ve created it. I live it. I wouldn’t have it any other way. As the More is More Mom® I love more everything….especially trouble and aggravation. If I were a sensible person (which, clearly I am not), I might have asked my Nicholas to go on line and schedule his ACT test date. He is a very capable and reasonably agreeable person, and I’m sure he would have done it with enough prodding, but I just can’t help myself. I am a busy body and must have my hand in everything. After spending the past hour of my life filling out the questionnaire, I am beginning to think that perhaps relinquishing some control might be a good idea. Nah….who am I kidding? Though if I did that, I might have more time to spend sharing the pages and pages of ideas that I have with you…….that or I could just get less sleep. I’m thinking less sleep is so much more likely.
Anyway, we have been crazy-insanely busy as of late. Last week Amanda, my mom and I had a whirlwind 24 hour ROAD TRIP to Indianapolis for a gymnastics competition. Not to be a total braggart, but……. Amanda did an amazing vault. She flipped and landed her Yurchenko and scored a 9.1. Not a face plant in sight! We love it when there is no need for a trip to the orthopedist. They love us there! Between us we have been there for: knees, ankles, heels, wrists (Amanda is a repeat customer), numerous fingers and Chuck had that super exciting (and successful) thumb replant. They rock! But do you know what doesn’t rock? The Marriott at the Convention Center in Indianapolis. Do you want to know why they don’t rock? They don’t have pay per view movies in their rooms. We girls were super psyched to get into our pj’s and watch Whip It (with the fabulous Drew Barrymore and that cute little Ellen Page from Juno, which was playing at the Double Tree in St. Louis, where they do have pay per view). When I called down to the front desk to inquire about how exactly I might find their pay per view, they responded, “We don’t have it.” What?!? Seriously, Super 8 has pay per view. Mr. Marriott has like a zillion hotels all over the world and the front desk is trying to tell me that this is the one amenity that they can’t provide. I don’t need 800 thread count sheets, or chocolates on my pillow (you know I bring those Hershey’s bars with me everywhere I go, so there is no need), but I do need in room entertainment. We were so bummed! We were forced to watch Olympic Ice Dancing….the compulsory routines. What a let down. Amanda has yet another meet this coming Saturday and I picked up our own personal copy of Whip It for our viewing pleasure. I hope we’re not putting too much pressure on Drew and Ellen to deliver and live up to our expectations. I’ll have to let you know…..
In the meantime I have been dying to share with you the recipe for Smoky Corn Salsa. I found it in Bon Appétit magazine and it was terrific!
2 red bell peppers, quartered and seeded
3 ears of fresh corn husked (I used 4 because more of everything is always better!)
1 bunch green onions (or more….), trimmed
2 garlic cloves (I used three times as many because garlic is delicious and keeps the vampires away….even that Robert Pattinson. I think our household is pro “Team Jacob” for you Twilight fans)
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (I always use the bottled juice because it is so much less messy, clearly I have not been to the Cordon Bleu)
1 tablespoon (or eyeball a few dashes) bottled chipotle hot sauce
2/3 cup (or whatever) chopped fresh cilantro
Prepare barbeque on high heat. Brush the bell peppers, corn and green onions with some olive oil. Grill veggies until well charred in spots, turning occasionally with tongs and removing pieces as they brown. You really want to watch the green onions after about 5 minutes, because they char rather quickly (I know as I had to do a second batch). The peppers and corn will be good after 10-15 minutes. Allow the vegetables to cool. Cut peppers and onions into 1/3-inch pieces and cut corn off the cob.

Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a small skillet over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cumin; sauté until garlic begins to sizzle but does not brown, about 30 seconds. Pour into a large bowl; mix in lime juice and hot sauce. Mix in veggies. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Cool completely; mix in cilantro. This can be made several days in advance.

I threw boneless, skinless chicken breasts on the grill and topped them with heaping spoonfuls of this salsa. It would be beautiful with grilled fish or pork too, as well as quesadillas. But I think it would be best enjoyed simply with ……… a bowl of Frito’s Scoops! And maybe margarita’s……..

Leave a comment

Filed under More is More Mom

Leave a Reply

