That’s Entertainment; Cowboys Vs. Aliens or Friends With Benefits?


As the More is More Mom®, I’m all about….more entertainment! While an evening out, being waited on hand and foot, at a fabulous restaurant might sound like the perfect way to spend a beautiful summer evening, Chuck and I were super psyched to have two, count ‘em, two, movie going experiences within 16 hours! So far this summer, we have seen exactly two movies together; Bad Teacher (naughty and somewhat hilarious) and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part II (absolutely amazing story telling, made all the sweeter because Nick asked us if we’d like to accompany him to the show……YES!).

This weekend, however, it was hard to decide; Horrible Bosses, Cowboys vs. Aliens, Crazy, Stupid, Love or Friends with Benefits. As a devotee of Harrison Ford and his fabulous matinee idol-ness, I was all over Cowboys vs. Aliens. Besides, I adore director John Favreau (one, for his guest spot on Friend’s as Monica’s boyfriend, Pete, like 100 year ago, and two, as the director of my all time favorite Christmas movie, Elf.).

 

blogs.babble.com

I’m not exactly sure what I expected, but Cowboys vs. Aliens was exactly that; COWBOYS vs. ALIENS. I was kind of hopeful because, as I said, Harrison Ford is the ultimate (next to my all time favorite movie cool dude, Bruce Willis. Nobody is cooler, not even Cary Grant, and I think he’s pretty cool.). Sam Rockwell, well….rocks, and while he’s kind of a sleeper, I love Keith Carridine (why you may ask? Because he was totally stellar in one the best Broadway musicals of all time; The Will Roger’s Follies….maybe you would consider a revival Broadway smarties?).

On the other hand, I think Daniel Craig is a total stiff. He may be one of the worst 007’s next to Timothy Dalton, ever; absolutely no charm and no humor, which are hallmarks of James Bond’s persona. So, as the robotic lead of Cowboys vs. Aliens, I was kind of unimpressed; desperately trying not to nod off in the theater as it’s expensive to go to the show. I sure hope he is better suited to the role of Kalle Blomkvist in the much anticipated The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (all three Stieg Larsson books were AMAZING).

 

Igossip.com

On the other hand, our Saturday matinee, Friends with Benefits, was outstanding! Shockingly, as a gal with a special place in her heart for teen idols, I’m just not that familiar with Justin Timberlake. I think I must have missed the In Sync invasion while I was a little more focused on Barney, but Justin is Da Bomb! He is so talented and so incredibly charming, delightful and funny. As a long time devotee of Saturday Night Live (even though it has stunk for the past 20 years; hope springs eternal), his performances are serious highlights; Single Ladies and Motherlovers. Need I say more?

Friend’s With Benefits was charming, delightful and hilarious. JT and Mila Kunis have wonderful, and completely believable, chemistry. They were so stinking cute that we were just totally rooting for them. I love the “in the know” nod to their previous projects; Patricia Clarkson from Motherlover and Jason Segel from Forgetting Sarah Marshall. FWB is side-splitting fun and I give it two thumbs way up!

More disappointments, more hilarity, more charming leading men, more movie going experiences!

 To schedule and Interior Design appointment, a Life Style consultation or a speaking engagement, please email me at moreismoremom@aol.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertaining, Family Life, Hostess Gifts

Leave a Reply

