It Doesn’t Have to Wednesday to be Prince Spaghetti Day!


As the More is More Mom®, I am all about…..more pasta dinners! Some nights I feel like a short order cook. Nick likes pasta, rice and potatoes, while Amanda never met a steak or a burger she didn’t like. One of my favorite dishes is Campanelle Pasta with Broccolini and Italian Sausage, something for everyone (of course, Chuck and I eat it all mixed together, while the kids eat a deconstructed version, meaning ingredients not touching……).

 

Campanelle Pasta with Broccolini and Italian Sausage

This recipe serves 6 (or 4 really hungry people)

1 – 16 oz box Campanelle Pasta, I’m a fan of the Barilla (you can certainly use any shell type pasta)

1 bunch of Broccolini (a hybrid vegetable: broccoli and asparagus, though broccoli florettes work well too)

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 chopped onion, approximately 1 cup

6 cloves of garlic, minced

½ lb Italian sausage, remove the casings

1 ½ cups marinara sauce, home made or from a jar, I like Prego

¾ cup fresh grated cheese, such as Parmesan or a pecorino Romano

I like to prep my ingredients before I get my meals underway.

Trim the Broccolini

Chop the onion

Mince the garlic

Remove the casings from 3 Italian sausages (I grill those that remain for my kids)

Grate the cheese

Bring a large pot of water to a boil

Cook the Campanelle pasta for approximately 15 minutes (I always make a double batch of pasta because Nick loves leftovers)

Drain and mix with one stick of butter per box of pasta

Now, if you are not going to deconstruct the dish, you can add the Broccolini to the pasta during the last 3-4 minutes that the pasta cooks. I cooked the Broccolini in a separate pot of boiling water for 3-4 minutes. Drain and set aside. Any Broccolini that is not going into the pasta dish can be slathered with butter (the only way to choke down the veggies)

Meanwhile, in a skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat

 

Add the onions and garlic, cooking for 2-3 minutes

 

Add the sausage, break up and brown for approximately 6 minutes

 

Add the pasta and the Broccolini, tossing until well combined

 

Add the marinara sauce, until warmed through

 

Sprinkle generously with cheese and serve

Now my pals prefer buttered noodles, with grilled sausage and buttered Broccolini on the side. Something for everyone.

More individual preferences, more delicious dinners, more time together…..

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertaining, More is More Mom, Recipes

Leave a Reply

