Spook-tacular Fun…..


As the More is More Mom®, I am all about…..more tablescapes! Tuesday was my big day at Chicago’s Merchandise Mart speaking with the International Furnishings and Design Association. What a thrill to share my personal philosophy about entertaining and making more memories. You know my motto; More of Everything is Always Better. Why design one tablescape when you can design three?

In keeping with the spirit of the upcoming season, I demonstrated my philosophies through setting a Halloween Buffet, an Elegant Woodland Harvest table and a whimsical Christmas celebration (think Dr. Suess meets a peppermint wonderland). I’m pretty sure that I brought more of my personal belongings to the Mart on Monday than Chuck and I had in our first apartment. Excess is not a skimpy proposition. 

My intention as an Interior Designer is to help my clients develop and interpret a personal style that reflects the way they live. However, the way our homes look is only one component in our quest to live in a more meaningful way. Another is how we use our homes to create meaningful life experiences for our family and friends.

 

I think that entertaining in your home should be an event! To me, Halloween is a nibble on treats and sip on cocktails kind of a holiday, which is why I chose to design an over the top Halloween Buffet. I hope you enjoy the photographs….

 

Every good tablescape starts with table linens. In homage to the colors of the season, I chose a black striped table cloth as a foundation, but for me a tablecloth is never enough. A fun and flirty topper is always in order. I had a great time with my pals Vickie and Camille, of Chicago Design Team at the Arlington Design Center, when selecting a fabric and trim for a fantastic table-topper. They provided this fantastic Duralee fabric and trim. What I appreciate about this fabric is that it is a nod to the flavor of the season, being that it is a pumpkin hue, but it isn’t predictable. There are no goblins or gourds, just an elegant, bold and graphic medallion type pattern that screams sophistication.

A bold statement is the best way to set the tone for your party. Let your guests know what to expect by showcasing something fabulous. Here, I have anchored my buffet with a pair of large lanterns. To amp up the spooky factor, inside each lantern I have placed a large white pillar candle and topped it with a black, shiny skull. Behind each door hides a scary, hairy, rat! Affixed to the top of one lantern is….. a raven (never more). Eeew!

 

Before there was an Edward or a Bella, there was my vampire-ess to watch over the festivities. Isn’t she amazing? I pair her with two skeletal hands, each on a tall pedestal. Just because they are super creepy, I place soft and squishy type rats, scurrying about the vampire-ess. They are just so gross!

 

I think a bar is of the utmost importance, which is why I have chosen for this one to take center stage. Glassware, and barware, does best when corralled by a statement tray. I am so in love with this mirrored tray. The cut crystal just glistens in reflection, while a silver ice bucket is gorgeous and sophisticated. The bucket is the perfect place to house my magic wand. Should anyone misbehave, I have my wand to cast a magic spell. To round out my table, I have two little, lidded apothecary jars. One filled with skulls and the other with spiders. How creepy is that?

If you are serving cocktails, snicky-snacks are a must! To either side of my lanterns, I have placed black pedestal platters, dripping in crystals. I am a huge fan of balance, though not necessarily symmetry. Two snacks are never enough, so I have placed a smaller, silver pedestal platter to the left of the bar, while I have placed a low silver chip bowl and smaller silver dip bowl to the right. To balance the height differential, I placed a tall Halloween Cat smartly dressed in a pumpkin suit.

 

The rest is easy. Illumination is a key element in any table design. Here I have chosen to flank my buffet with black iron and crystal candelabra’s. They were nice and dusty and cob-webby from living in my basement. Perfect! Between each candelabra and lantern I placed a black urn, topped with a sparkly orange pumpkin.

My buffet-scape is only complete with the addition of spider appetizer plates, napkins that read, “Eat, drink and be scary,” and a few carefully placed ravens and spiders.

Now that we are all set for Halloween, it’s time to invite a few guests to help us celebrate! More holidays, more decorations, more over the top celebrating life with friends….

In the weeks to come, I will be sharing my Elegant Woodland Table and my Whimsical Christmas Celebration. In the meantime, enjoy more time with family and friends!

3 Comments

Filed under Entertaining, Interior Design, More is More Mom

3 responses to “Spook-tacular Fun…..

  1. You are right….entertaining at home should be an event and you have made it so. Can’t wait to see your next fanciful tables.

  2. Thanks for posting the link to this. That table is fabulous. I love all the silver and crystal combined with black & “spooky.” ; )

Leave a Reply

